Commemorative Books Coverage List

Open Golf 2023

Date of Paper	Pages	Event Covered (Daily Mirror unless stated)
30 Jun 1934	Front Page	Henry Cotton wins at Sandwich
29 Jun 1935	Page 26	Alfred Perry wins at Muirfield
29 Jun 1936	Page 26	Alfred Padgham wins at Hoylake
10 Jul 1937	Page 26	Henry Cotton wins at Carnoustie
9 Jul 1938	Page 26	Reg Whitcombe wins at Sandwich
8 Jul 1939	Page 26	Richard Burton wins at St Andrews
6 Jul 1946	Page 7	Sam Snead wins at St Andrews
5 Jul 1947	Back page	Fred Daly wins at Hoylake
3 Jul 1948	Back Page	Henry Cotton wins his 3 rd Open, at Muirfield
10 Jul 1949	Back page	Bobby Locke wins at Sandwich
	Sunday Pictorial	
8 Jul 1950	Page 10	Bobby Locke retains the Open at Troon
7 Jul 1951	Page 11	Max Faulkner wins at Royal Portrush
12 Jul 1952	Page 10	Bobby Locke wins at Lytham St Anne's
11 Jul 1953	Page 10	Ben Hogan wins at Carnoustie
10 Jul 1954	Page 13	Peter Thomson wins at Royal Birkdale
9 Jul 1955	Page 17	Peter Thomson retains the Open at St Andrews
7 Jul 1956	Page 13	Peter Thomson wins for the 3 rd year in succession, at Hoylake
6 Jul 1957	Page 13	Bobby Locke wins his 4th Open, at St Andrews
6 Jul 1958	Page 22	Peter Thomson wins his 4th Open, at Lytham St Anne's
	Sunday Pictorial	
4 Jul 1959	Page 11	Gary Player wins at Muirfield

11 Jul 1960	Page 19	Kel Nagle wins the Centenary Open at St Andrews
17 Jul 1961	Page 19	Arnold Palmer wins at Royal Birkdale
14 Jul 1962	Page 18	Arnold Palmer retains the Open, at Troon
14 Jul 1963	Page 30	Bob Charles wins at Lytham St Anne's
11 Jul 1964	Page 22	Tony Lema wins at St Andrews
10 Jul 1965	Page 23	Peter Thomson wins his 5th Open, at Royal Birkdale
10 Jul 1966	Page 33	Jack Nicklaus wins at Muirfield
17 Jul 1967	Page 19	Roberto de Vicenzo wins at Hoylake
15 Jul 1968	Page 22	Gary Player wins at Carnoustie
14 Jul 1969	Page 22	Tony Jacklin wins at Lytham St Anne's
13 Jul 1970	Page 22	Jack Nicklaus wins at St Andrews
12 Jul 1971	Page 23	Lee Trevino wins at Royal Birkdale
17 Jul 1972	Page 26	Lee Trevino retains the Open, at Muirfield
16 Jul 1973	Page 26	Tom Weiskopf wins at Troon
15 Jul 1974	Page 23	Gary Player wins his 3 rd Open, at Lytham St Anne's
14 Jul 1975	Pages 22 & 23	Tom Watson wins at Carnoustie
11 Jul 1976	Back & Page 35	Johnny Miller wins at Royal Birkdale
10 Jul 1977	Page 39 & back	Tom Watson wins at Turnberry
16 Jul 1978	Page 39	Jack Nicklaus wins at St Andrews
22 Jul 1979	Back, Pages 42 & 43	Seve Ballesteros wins at Lytham St Anne's
21 Jul 1980	Page 26	Tom Watson wins at Muirfield
20 Jul 1981	Back page	Bill Rogers wins at Sandwich
19 Jul 1982	Back Page	Tom Watson wins at Troon
18 Jul 1983	Back Page & Page 27	Tom Watson wins his 5th Open, at Royal Birkdale
23 Jul 1984	Back Page & Page 27	Seve Ballesteros wins at St Andrews

22 Jul 1985	Back Page, Pages 26 & 27	Sandy Lyle wins at Sandwich
21 Jul 1986	Pages 24,25 & back	Greg Norman wins at Turnberry
20 Jul 1987	Front, P26 &27, back	Nick Faldo wins at Muirfield
19 Jul 1988	Back, Pages 30 & 31	Seve Ballesteros wins his 3 rd Open, at Lytham St Anne's
24 Jul 1989	Pages 26,27 & back	Mark Calcavecchia wins at Troon
23 Jul 1990	Back, Pages 26 & 27	Nick Faldo wins at St Andrews
22 Jul 1991	Pages 26 & 27	Ian Baker-Finch wins at Royal Birkdale
20 Jul 1992	Pages 30,31 & back	Nick Faldo wins his 3 rd Open, at Muirfield
19 Jul 1993	Back, Pages 38 & 39	Greg Norman wins at Sandwich
18 Jul 1994	Pages 36 & 37	Nick Price wins at Turnberry
24 Jul 1995	Pages 34 & 35	John Daly wins at St Andrews
22 Jul 1996	Pages 30,31 & back	Tom Lehman wins at Lytham St Anne's
21 Jul 1997	Pages 33,34,35 & back	Justin Leonard wins at Troon
20 Jul 1998	Back, Pages 46 & 47	Mark O'Meara wins at Royal Birkdale
19 Jul 1999	Pages 44-48	Paul Lawrie wins at Carnoustie
24 Jul 2000	Pages 46-48	Tiger Woods wins at St Andrews
23 Jul 2001	Pages 47 & 48	David Duval wins at Lytham St Anne's
22 Jul 2002	Pages 54,55 & back	Ernie Els wins at Muirfield
21 Jul 2003	Back, Pages 54 & 55	Ben Curtis wins at Sandwich
19 Jul 2004	Pages 54 & 55	Todd Hamilton wins at Troon
16 Jul 2005	Pages 72 & 73	Jack Nicklaus plays his last ever Open
18 Jul 2005	Pages 62,63 & back	Tiger Woods wins at St Andrews
24 Jul 2006	Back, Pages 62 & 63	Tiger Woods retains the Open, at Hoylake
23 Jul 2007	Pages 62 & 63	Padraig Harrington wins at Carnoustie
21 Jul 2008	Pages 62 & 63	Padraig Harrington retains the Open at Royal Birkdale

20 Jul 2009	Pages 62 & 63	Stewart Cink wins the Open at Turnberry
19 Jul 2010	Pages 62 & 63	Louis Oosthuizen wins the Open at St Andrews
18 Jul 2011	Pages 62 & 63	Darren Clarke wins the Open at Sandwich
23 Jul 2012	Pages 60 & 61	Ernie Els wins the Open at Lytham St Anne's
22 July 2013	Pages 62 & 63	Phil Mickelson wins the Open at Muirfield
21 July 2014	Pages 62 & 63	Rory McIlroy wins the Open at Hoylake
21 July 2015	Pages 54 & 55	Zach Johnson wins the Open at St Andrews
18 July 2016	Pages 54 & 55	Henrik Stenson wins the Open at Troon
24 July 2017	Pages 54 & 55	Jordan Spieth wins the Open at Royal Birkdale
23 July 2018	Pages 50 & 51	Francesco Molinari wins at Carnoustie
22 July 2019	Pages 54 & 55	Shane Lowry wins the Open at Royal Portrush
		The 2020 Open is cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic
19 July 2021	Pages 52 & 53	Collin Morikawa wins the Open at Royal St George's
18 July 2022	Pages 48 & 49	Cameron Smith wins the 150th Open at St Andrews
24 July 2023	Pages 58 & 59	Brian Harman wins the Open at Royal Liverpool

Total Pages 154